Blog Posts
Birth Injury

The 4 Main Types of Cerebral Palsy

December 30, 2020

Cerebral palsy is a serious birth injury broken down into four different types based on the limbs affected and the extent of the condition. Cerebral palsy generally results from a brain injury. It is a lifelong injury that can affect all aspects of a child’s development. Children diagnosed with cerebral palsy have developmental delays, limited mobility, and other health problems associated with the condition. Prompt diagnosis of the cause of cerebral palsy is essential, and the sooner the diagnosis occurs, the sooner treatment can commence.

The Four Types of Cerebral Palsy

Birth injuries can impact an individual for life. Often, they require long-term care and costly medical treatment. Cerebral palsy is one of the most common types of birth injury, broken down into four categories.

The four types of cerebral palsy are described largely by physical characteristics but may also include cognitive/mental deficits. The four types of cerebral palsy include:

Recognizing the early signs is essential for early intervention. Signs of cerebral palsy include difficulty lifting the head, “flopping,” stiffness, inability to move and the child may arch his or her back to push away when cradled. These classic signs should be promptly investigated by a medical professional.

Share this post: